Welcome to the web presence of the Braeside and Mannofield Community Council.
Community Councils are statutory bodies, set up by an Act of Parliament. Their term of office is 3 years and they receive an annual grant from the City Council.
They have no executive powers although being close to and part of the local community they play a vital role in representing the views of the community to local authorities and other public bodies.
Anyone who lives within the Community Council area and whose name is on the electoral roll can be nominated or apply to become a Community Councillor.
There are also places for young people aged 16 and 17 years and other co-options are allowed.
The Braeside and Mannofield Community Council has an upper limit of 12 members.
For full information about Community Councils download the Aberdeen City Council Handbook from the document archive.

In compliance with the General Data Protection Regulation, Braeside and Mannofield Community Council have a data privacy policy. That policy can be viewed by clicking here

You can email us at bandmcommcouncil@gmail.com

Wednesday, 1 June 2016

New Bus Routes to commence

In February Aberdeen City Council approved the funding to improve bus services for residents in the Airyhall and Mannofield areas following the re-routing of the number 15 service.

Two new services are to be launched on 13 June.

Route 15a is an evening service that will be run by First Bus. 

The route begins at Craigiebuckler Avenue and travels via Springfield Road, Countesswells Road, Countesswells Avenue, Countesswells Road, Airyhall Avenue, Craigton Road, Springfield Road, Seafield Road North, Seafield Road, Cromwell Road, Union Grove, Holburn Street, Union Street, Market Street, Guild Street, to Bridge Street.

The reverse route is then followed

The service commences at Guild Street at 8pm and will run till 11.30pm Monday to Saturday and until 10.30pm on a Sunday.

For a copy of the route and the complete timetable click here.

Route 95 is a daytime service giving access to Mannofield area for Airyhall residents and onwards to Asda and Sainsbury’s at the Bridge of Dee operated by Stagecoach.   

The service will run three times a day.

The route begins in Johnston Gardens North in Peterculter and travels via Malcolm Road, North Deeside Road Culter, School Road, Bucklerburn Drive, School Road, Coronation Road, North Deeside Road, Contlaw Road, Colthill Road, Binghill Crescent, Binghill Road, North Deeside Road at Torn-a-dee, North Deeside Road Bieldside, Bailieswells Road, Cairn Road/Manse Road, Quarry Road, Hillview Crescent, Kirk Brae, Friarsfield Road, Craigton Road, Airyhall Avenue, Countesswells Road, Countesswells Avenue, Airyhall Terminus, Countesswells Avenue, Countesswells Road, Airyhall Avenue, Craigton Road, Springfield Road, St John’s Terrace, Great Western Road, South Anderson Dirve, Sainsbury’s Garthdee Road to Asda Garthdee Road.

The reverse route is then followed.

These services commence at Johnston Gardens North at 9am, 11.20am and 1.40pm with returns from Asda leaving at 10.10am, 12.30pm and 2.50pm.  The 2.50 service terminates at Airyhall terminus and does not continue out to Culter.

A full copy of the services, routes and timetable can be accessed by clicking here.

It is essential that these new routes are supported and that we, as a community, use the facilities as frequently as possible.  If we don't use them we might lose them.

The Community Council is grateful to Ross Thompson and his colleagues on Aberdeen City Council for the work done on behalf of the residents in Braeside and Mannofield. 

No comments:

Post a Comment